January 9th 2011

January 9th 2011

Gosh another glorious day.

BOOKS

Jonathan Coe-  The Terrible Privacy of Maxwell Sim ***

I finished reading this last night/this morning. As always with Mr Coe, it’s beautifully written and both funny and tragic in equal measure. Maxwell Sim is a one of the saddest, sweetest, undeservedly loneliest men I’ve come across for a while, around whom a miriad of unfortunate events take place. His neighbouring passenger on a long haul flight dies and he spends several hours talking to him before he realises. He is mugged and the thief returns to ask him for directions. His wife and daughter leave him and he’s not had sex since her conception eight years ago. His most meaningful and communicative relationship is with the disembodied voice of his sat nav… you get the picture. The peripheral characters are wonderfully drawn, and the way Max’s story interweaves through theirs is clever, Maxwell’s father is another poignant and fascinating personality and I found his tale particularly moving. I was reminded of one of my favourite quotes, one that often helps me to cope with my Black Fogs when they descend;

‘Most men lead lives of quiet desperation and go to the grave with the song still in them.’ Henry David Thoreau.

I found the ending a little whimsical but it didn’t spoil it for me.

MUSIC

Fergus is learning High and Dry by Radiohead and it’s really lovely listening to him strum… and sing!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7qFfFVSerQo

Today I’ve been listening to Anya Marina… I discovered her on one of the ‘Twilight’ soundtracks- naff but true- which I purchased because Thom Yorke had recorded a song specially for it- not so naff… Two of my favourite tracks are

Satellite Heart

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g0S7OKuH554

Sociopath

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ltx9wv70z0o

I’m cooking boiled gammon, baked potatoes, cabbage stir fried with leeks and garlic and onion sauce finished with sour cream. Yum. Licking my lips in antissssss… ipation! (those of you who get that… I love you!)

CLOTHES

Gimme a break… It’s Sunday x

 

 

You could always tell me what you think...

