January 7th 2011

January 7th 2011

I need to stop writing, writing, writing, writing… poems…

My eyes have turned in on themselves- in, in, in, in, into my brain, into my memory and that’s brought with it the dreaded Black Fog. The January Fog. The Fog Fog. The Fog of Doom.

So- slipping them back-a-ways to look where they’re meant to look-  out, out, out, out…

BOOKS

Room by Emma Donoghue.

I thought this an incredible book. It’s effect took hold slowly and completely gripped me as I got into it. The style, difficult at first, really spoke in a powerfully emotional way. A very unique voice. I had no idea where it was going and was almost lulled dreamily into it’s own twilight surreality, when suddenly someone switched the light on, KAPOW!  The story gathers momentum and takes off like a bolting stallion. Excellent. I recommend.

**** ( That’s 4 stars to you…)

Just reading Jonathan Coe – The Terrible Privacy of Maxwell Sim – Will review soon- but it’s good.

I Loved  The House of Sleep. That made me laugh out loud.

MUSIC

Heligoland ****

Madly obsessed with this at the mo… and any one who knows me will understand what I mean by obsessed- constantly on ipod on repeat.  On and on. Poetry to music- take a look at these words… Then listen.

Paradise Circus

It’s unfortunate that when we feel a storm

We can roll ourselves over ’cause we’re uncomfortable

Oh where the devil makes us sin

but we like it when we’re spinning in his grip.

Love is like a sin, my love

for the one that feels it the most

look at her with her eyes like a flame

she will love you like a fly will never love you again

And apologies to all who have lived with these other obsessions for weeks and weeks- Two more fantastic albums:

John Grant- Queen of Denmark *****

The eponymous track being one of my faves of 2010, but the whole album is fab, fab, fab

Dead Man’s Bones- Dead Man’s Bones. *****

Lose Control- a particularly wonderful track, but all are really good and new and very different. Check out the vids on You Tube- my fave;

Being an obsessive I checked out all Ryan Gosling’s (The thinking woman’s hunk… not my words but I do concur) films and very very much enjoyed

Lars and the Real Girl *****  now amongst my top 20 all timers. Funny, sad, weird, love it.

and

Half Nelson **** raw, compelling, moving

 

STUFF

Check out something lovely:

Another Ryan- Ryan Woodward-Thought of You

http://conteanimated.com/the-animation/

A truly beautiful short animation. I guarantee you will love it.

CLOTHES

Just bought a lovely frock- usually a guaranteed fogbuster…

History Repeating Shirtdress- Anna Sui

 

You could always tell me what you think...

