January 12th 2011

January 12th 2011

Just begun a new course this evening- 10 weeks of ‘Trouble Writing’ with Polly Tuckett. Really lovely to see some old faces and be introduced to some new ones. I have a feeling it’s going to be an interesting and dynamic group. I also realised how much I have missed the structure of a class, thinking to order and listening to others talk about writing. I am excited about what the next 10 weeks will bring. I am hoping I will learn new skills, be inspired to try new things, think in a different way, write more experimentally and make some new friends. Wow… I wrote a load of drivel in class tonight but hey ho, a couple of people wrote something very interesting. One guy in particular whose name I haven’t yet learned wrote something I loved. Zebra…

Work- Started pulling together ideas for Spring/Summer 2012 collections. It’s my favourite time, when we are pure of thought and ideal before the retailers get their hands on everything, pare it back to beyond it’s bones and we end up with stuff unrecognisable that  bears no resemblance to our original beautiful concept. We organised our usual kick-it-off workshop where my design manager presented to our team our direction and focus for the forthcoming season and all the designers presented back to us their research encompassing inspiring imagery, forthcoming not to be missed exhibitions, music, films, fashion and general loveliness. I was so delighted by the efforts of my three new graduates- lovely to be around such unfettered enthusiasm; a reminder  of why I enjoy being surrounded by young people. Once they have collated their findings I will post some luscious links here.

Very excited to have just booked two work trips away- one to LA and Portland,  two of my favourite US cities… and one to Paris and Antwerp- shopping heaven.

But the most exciting of all- a writing break to Spain in early April. One week of blissful indulgence, guidance and time to write intensively. Hopes are high.

Came home late after my class tonight knowing I would be met by a houseful of young people as my eldest was home for a fleeting visit and he never travels without a serious entourage- lovely… as I can’t help but join in… even though I will be completely knackered by tomorrow evening having gone to bed on Tuesday night at 3.30am talking and drinking the night away with a very good friend- (Sam I love you!) and tonight having somehow missed the chance to sleep at all. Most of the young peeps are about to go off travelling and I won’t see them for months so it was good to have the chance to see them all. I’ll miss them. We played that game where someone sticks a post-it to your head with a persons name on and you have to guess who you are. I was hopeless. My morning alarm has just gone off and I’m sure I’m too old for this! Still, I’ve cleared up the kitchen and all looks pristine ready for Michelle’s return after flu. Maybe I’ll sleep this evening? Maybe I’d look really young and gorgeous if I behaved better?

Something to think about…

 

You could always tell me what you think...

